+ Reply to Thread

Thread: GPS on 4100

GPS on 4100

HI, what's the best gps solutions for ppc4100??

Price...hw...where buy...

Check www.anextek.com under accessories for the SP230. That's the only dedicated one I found. Probably the only one guaranteed to work. It's not expensive either.
    I tried a BT GPS with toshiba BT SD card but couldn't get the card to work with the ppc4100. Others have tried a SD GPS and could not get it to work either. Search this forum for older posts.

Nemo, how would you ever know that this GPS would work with the PPC4100? I studied the referenced website and cannot determine that the SP230 is the same as the PPC 4100. Have you definitely used this GPS with the PPC4100, and if so, how does it attach? Does it need a separate source of power, of does it use the PDA battery?

Thanks,

Larry Cruzen

The sp230 and ppc4100 are the same phone, the only difference is that the ppc4100 is designed for the us market and works on the 850Mhz frequency, while the sp230 works on 900Mhz. I have not used that particular gps.

Well I use 4 navigation programs on my PPC4100
    1.papago (kingmap)
    2.Navigon navigator 5
    3.Destinator 3
    4.Microsoft pocket streets

I use a holux GM-210 mouse serial gps the only problem are the cables but the good is that your phone is plugged and charging all the time, if you don't want cables you can go with an SDIO GPS device but you will have some memory storage problems with some nav programs or an SDIO bluetooth with a BT GPS.
    As far as the programs papago light and accurate program, destinator and navigon are more advanced more memmory but no problem with my PPC4100 as for pocket streets good light program similar to papago but with no good map support for my country (Greece). Tomtom is working allright but I don't use it to tell you bug issues cause it has no Greece map support..

I hope to be usefull