I am one of many who either are considering, or who have already decided on, a move to a D70. This thread is really applicable to D100 owners as well, because I think that the size comparisons are also close to the same.

I shoot a lot of sports, rarely print anything over 8x10, and never print anything larger than 13x19. I will never be able to justify buying a $4000-5000 camera and so up until the D2H price job, a "Pro" level body was out of my shopping list forever. I am not a professional photographer, and I wouldn't even call myself a good photographer when talking with people on this forum... because I've seen what you guys can do. I do use my camera for product pictures as well for web publishing, and that is the "business need" that really got me into this stuff to start with, but being a Dad of high school atheletes has given me many more reasons to own a camera like the D2H.

I have had the D70 for about 3-4 months, having bought it after many years of Nikon ownership. I started with a manual Nikon 35mm body years ago, went to the 6006 which served us well for the last 15 or so years, and had bought a Coolpix 4300 a year ago. The near $1000 price of the D70 got to the price point where I saw DSLR as a real option, but quickly dwarfed that in other expenses for all the stuff you guys can list as good as me. The thing that the D70 did for me was let me learn things I always wanted to spend time learning, but didn't have the patience for with film... and that has made me a "better" photographer for sure.

Anways, the point of this thread is to give you a few comparisons between the D2H and D70, after a few days of use. Note that this is biased towards what I see as the important differences, and not necessarily what the specs say... I picked up the D70 last night for the first time after less than a week, and it felt like a toy to me. It was like picking up a point and shoot, after using the D70. The difference in size and weight is that big.