+ Reply to Thread
    Born Again Convergin ChrisSpera's Avatar

hw6515 Extended ROM Unlocker..?

Does anyone know if there's an Extended ROM Unlocker for the 6515? I'd like to customize mine a bit, and am in need of it, if it exists.

Thanks!
    Kind Regards,
    Christopher Spera
    Gear Diary Review Team

I think there is, Chris... there is a user named dmc874 who did a lot with the 6500's and ROM updates. You may want to PM him.
    John

thanks, John!! I appreciate it! I'll give him a shout.
    Kind Regards,
    Christopher Spera
    Gear Diary Review Team

Please forgive me but I'm new to the 6500 series as I just got my first one literally 3 days ago... But what is this talk of "ROM Unlocking"?? What does ROM Unlocking do?? Can it brick a 6500?? What are the benefits of Rom Unlocking??

TIA

The 6500 comes with 3 distinct system areas (as do most PPC devices made by HTC): The System ROM, the Radio ROM and the Extended ROM. The System ROM contains the OS. Its what comes from Microsoft. Depending on the model, HTC may or may not have made modifications to it. If the device is a PDA Phone, the wireless carrier that sells it may also have made modifictions to it in order to get it on their wireless network.

The Radio ROM contains the software that runs the cellular radio that is in the PDA phone. It may also contain the BlueTooth stack (the software that runs the Bluetooth radio), but doesn't have to. That could be in the System ROM or in the Extended ROM. It may also have been customized by the OEM or the wireless carrier, but likely has not been (excluding carriers like VzW who have historically crippled their Bluetooth stacks...but that's another story entirely...)