+ Reply to Thread

Hardware Issues and Problems

Hotsync Problem
    It was discussed here:

http://www.smartphonesource.com/vbul...&threadid=4910

When I got my replacement Friday, I received not just one 7135 but two!!

Switching the ESN on the replacement was a breeze, of course. The VZW woman gave me no flack. She didn't know how to handle the hex ESN so I gave her the other one. All went well.

Graffiti Recognition Problem

I noticed that it seemed a little hard to put in the WAP IP addresses. I had to press hard on the graffiti area to register a stroke. Saturday, I was sending out some notes and noticed that the graffiti was just not acting right. Letters were not registering correctly. A space came out as "a", a newline would come out as "f", and a lot of other things. I've been using graffiti for almost 6 years so I knew there was something wrong.

I brought up the Graffit app so I could practice some strokes and see what was going on. There was a little bump in the middle of the area (under the plastic) which caused strokes to not register correctly.

Thankfully, I had the 2nd 7135 they sent and decided to switch to it today (Sunday). Within 30 minutes, I was up and running. I used the last BackupbuddyVFS and hotsynced to make sure that worked. Graffiti worked fine when I put in the new WAP IP addresses. I didn't have to press hard and it recognizes the strokes as it should. The VZW guy asked me "how did you get that phone?" I laughed and he swiched ESNs and in less than 5 minutes all was good. Even the WAP worked without any further intervention.

These were 2 hardware problems and I don't think they are unsual for a new device on the market. I've had similar with my very first Palmpilot so although I didn't enjoy them, I wasn't surprised by them. I do believe that Kyocera will need to be ready for these exchanges once VZW makes them available. The 7135 will be more popular than the 6035 IMO.