+ Reply to Thread

Radio Shack DigiTraveler

I've check the threads pretty extensively and am not sure of what I need to make the DigiTraveler work with my 7135.

I have the DigiTraveler and the Kyocera serial cable TXDTA10018. I purchased a cable G9PM from pc-mobile.net.
    I connected the G9PM to my serial cradle and it worked fine with no null modem adapter. I hooked up the G9PM to my serial cable with and without the Radio Shack null modem adapter and it didn't work.

What am I missing?

Thanks,
    Gary

OK, lets try this route since nobody else has run across this issue.
    Is there a difference between the Sync Cradle TXDTC10009 and the Serial Data Cable TXDTA10018F?
    Any suggestions on what I may be doing wrong?
    Anyone? Bueller? Frye?

Thanks,
    Gary

did it work on the cradle with-out the power cable hooked up?

there shouldn't be any difference between the cradle and the serial cable.

-tim

Geek
    I'm no expert on this. Only had my 7135 a few months and I haven't bothered to hook my Garmin eTrex (yellow) up to it yet because I haven't found any decent apps for reasonable money (or free!).

But I know from reading forums on my wife's lg vx6000 that there are Serial cables and USB cables. One has a "bump" in the middle of the cable, the other doesn't.

Basically it emulates a serial or USB connection when you don't have one or the other. Made a big difference which cable you used for certain apps.
    I'm guessing that somewhere in the TXDTC10009 there is a "bump" that's converting it from the Palm native serial connection to USB. The TXDTA10018F looks like just a plain serial cable.