+ Reply to Thread

7135 crashes worry me

I've been using a 6035 in the Verizon Wireless world for several years. Love it. Looking for a smaller device, so looking at the 7135. It appears to be exactly what I'm looking for, but epinions (and other sites) have lots of posts from people who experience stability problems - people who have had to trade the phone in many times in the first few months, etc.

One of the things I love about the 6035 is its Palm-based OS and the stability (probably had to reset no more than 3 times in two years).

Can anyone provide me a warm feeling about the 7135? Are all the stability issues around 3rd party applications? I'm not going to upgrade to the 7135 until I feel much better. So please help!

Administrator
    first off, welcome.

secondly, more people post on negative issues than the positive. they are looking for answers to questions.. thats the nature of online based forums...

the 7135 is a great tool but it does have its shortcomings, as you have noted from other sites and even form here.

the key is, and this goes for any hybrid palm or ppc based phone, is not to install every app out there. these devices are hybrids in nature and have had to have some comprimises built into the palm OS in order for it to talk to the phone side and vice versa. some programs dont like to work in that environment, while so do. if you were to have a quesiton on installing a certain program on the 7135, a search would be conducted to see if there have been any negative or positive info about it.

in short,no one can give you a 100% warm and fuzzy feeling about the 7135. there is (was) a huge user base of 7135's here when it came out and they had some wonderful times with it, but a lot of them have moved on to other devices since it is quite old in tech standards.