+ Reply to Thread
    going thru 7135 withdrawals... prymtym99's Avatar
    home of the 2004 stanley cup champion tampa bay lightning!!

question for the experts...

okay. newbie here...

i'm considering jumping into the smartphone arena and getting an inexpensive used 7135 from ebay to start with. in talking with a couple of alltel reps about the phone, they all tell me that i will not be able to use email/internet on the phone because it is "not supported by their network" anymore. i tried searching through some of the threads, but i couldn't find anything that was recently posted about this. is this really true or are they just blowing smoke up my butt?

any and all help is much appreciated! thanks guys...
    yes... i'm a newbie...

The good news about the phone is that it has never needed carrier support in order to use the internet, thanks to its included browser & many other browser options to purchase. The phone just needs to be able to make a data connection, the same way it would if connected to a laptop or the way another phone would to use carrier-provided browsing, like Alltel's MobileWeb, then its own browser takes over. Last time I checked, I could browse just fine.
    I have submitted alot of info on the proper settings & the difference between connections elsewhere in this forum, as well.
    P.S. - non-7135 users tend to have a very low image of the phone, believing it to be a bag-o-worms & are probably steering you toward a 650, assuming it would be a better choice (not to mention tie you into a contract)

prymtym99

I just noticed your location. Great city, btw! Spent a week with friends in Orlando June '04, but made the trip to the Gulf as often as possible! I didn't have my 7135 yet, but the 1X data service works well there...just not very far into the east 'burbs. The 7135 won't support Broadband, though.

thaxman,

thanks for the quick response. yes, the tampa bay area is great. and tomorrow's high is supposed to be 78. perfect golf weather!