+ Reply to Thread

Replacing (most) of a Verizon 7135

I've been using a 7135 for about 6 months now, and I absolutely love it. I don't want to have to get another model until someone comes out with a flip phone running the palm os on the Verizon network. As far as I know, the only alternative is the older 6035. Not exactly something I want to be using after having a 7135 for so long.

Anyhow, I've dropped my 7135 numerous times and one time half of the hinge cracked off. Now there's a big hole in the phone. I tried supergluing it back together, but the chunk just broke off again the next time I dropped it. Recently I ran across a pretty good deal on a 7135 on eBay - about $70 for a phone with a second battery, a charger, and a holster. When it came in, I took apart the "new" phone first, for practice. All you need is a torx 6 screwdriver. There's the 4 screws on the outside, and when you remove that plastic back cover there are two more holding on one of the two main circuit boards. I removed that carefully (there is a connector near the bottom hotsync plug to the other circuit board). Then there is a plastic separator piece, which I removed. Then I unplugged the screen and the CID display cables, and I was able to remove the other circuit board. After all of this, I took apart my Verizon phone. I then put the two circuit boards from my Verizon phone into the "new" phone, and voila! I've got old brains in a fancy new body. It really did not take all that long. Since I will probably manage to crack the screen or the hinge again, I think I will keep an eye out for another 7135 on ebay.

John Feinberg