+ Reply to Thread

Question Reasons to wait for WiFi & EVDO?

This post might sound ignorant to some, but just bear wth me...

I finally ordered a PPC6600 and now I'm reading all this stuff about how they're new versions coming out... 6606, 6608, etc. I see all these threads about WiFi and EVDO but thus far, I haven't really seen a reason for me to want them.

Can someone summarize what the advantages of both of these features are?

I have a basic understanding of what they are but not in terms of cell phones... when I think of WiFi I don't see what good it would be on a cell phone.

I'm a mere college student and my needs in terms of a PDA aren't that extensive... just scheduling, note taking(directions and such), and an address book.

Thanks!!!

Administrator

Re: Reasons to wait for WiFi & EVDO?

you just answered your own question:

Originally posted by anovice

I finally ordered a PPC6600 and now I'm reading all this stuff about how they're new versions coming out... 6606, 6608, etc. I see all these threads about WiFi and EVDO but thus far, I haven't really seen a reason for me to want them.

I have a basic understanding of what they are but not in terms of cell phones... when I think of WiFi I don't see what good it would be on a cell phone.

I'm a mere college student and my needs in terms of a PDA aren't that extensive... just scheduling, note taking(directions and such), and an address book.

Thanks!!!
    they wont mean much to some people who one ever use the services... i for one, do not have a need to do any real computing o nmy tiny phone to where i need to have a wifi connection. for some people, they will be a godend...

now, EVDO will allow us to have data and calls at the same time. our phones technically will be able to easily upgrade to -DO so that may be useful..

but dont sweat the rumor mills here.. live in the present and not the future...