+ Reply to Thread

Question POP3 Email Troubles

I'm having issues using the POP3 email account settings. I have successfully setup the pop3 server to receive mail but I cannot get it to send anything OUTSIDE of my provider with the smtp settings. In other words, my provider is Direcway and I can send email to a Direcway account with no problems. However, any other address gets kicked back to me as an Invalid address.

Any thoughts as to what I could be doing wrong? I've double-checked that I have the proper incoming and outgoing addresses based on my MS Outlook settings on my laptop.

Incoming mail: pop3.direcway.com
    Outgoing mail: smtp.direcway.com
    Domain: WHAT DO I ENTER HERE?

Options: Connect every 15 minutes
    Connection: The Internet (IS THIS CORRECT?)

I'm a newbie and I'm lost. Thanks in advance for the help.

I'm a total loser and I've been banned!!!
    Search the forums for "SMTP AUTH".

Ehud

To be a little more specific there is an Option button (or Advanced) in the wizard for the account. Push it and it will walk you through some additional options. One of which is to enable authetication on sending.

Leave the domain thing blank

I am having trouble also. I can recieve e-mails using my pop3 but when I try to send them I used to get it returned from the system administrator stating the message had an invalid message recipient and now when I write a message and hit send it just sets in the outbox and won't get sent even after I click on send and receive. Please help

Originally posted by Robroy
    I am having trouble also. I can recieve e-mails using my pop3 but when I try to send them I used to get it returned from the system administrator stating the message had an invalid message recipient and now when I write a message and hit send it just sets in the outbox and won't get sent even after I click on send and receive. Please help