+ Reply to Thread

64$ bluetooth gps? good deal?

You might have better luck finding reviews over at GPS Passion. I tend to stay away from lesser known companies. I've been using the Socket GPS unit for 2 years now and it has performed flawlessly.
    Mobile Pimp: Fujitsu P7010D, Audiovox 6600, Playstation PSP, iGo Juice (70), Kingston 5gb PC-Card, SDIO Socket Wifi, Socket BlueTooth GPS, Socket CF BT Adapter, PNY 4 in 1 Memory Adapter.

Hi Big,
    What software do you use for socket?

i really would like to order a gps unit asap because of an upcoming trip but I really dont have time to read about them. I heard tomtom is the software to go.

if i do go to the tomtom route, is this all i need?

http://www.tomtom.com/products/categ...D=1&Language=4

tomtom is the bomb! the $299 package you listed includes the GPS and the software, that's all you'd need.
    Tom

hi, why such a bad review? 1 star out of 5?

http://www.buygpsnow.com/item.aspx?itemid=394

There are two different chips out now for GPS. I have the high rent Holux 236 which cost me about $130, but it picks up a signal at the bottom of a well. Its cheaper cousin costs about $80 as is just as good as the top of the line a year or so ago. This puppy might have the older cheaper chip in it and so might be a bargan... but would make an informed choice on chipset before buying.

I have used both DeLorme and iGuidance software. The later is easier to use for me and costs extra. This thing seemsto come with software... if so might be a real buy if it covers the ol' USA. Otherwise software might just be to check connections. Holux comes with that for free.
    Sprint: G1000, HTC-6600, 6800, now TP2
    Windroid: Energy.ROM.28244.Sense2.5/Android 2.1
    Overclocked to 729Mhz