+ Reply to Thread

Need HELP with Bluetake i-PHONO mini BT450Rx

Hi all, I need your help with getting my first bluetooth headset working properly with my PPC-6600 -- the High Quality Audio works OK, but I get problems if I try to use the Hands-Free/Headset function.

First off I should say that I have scanned through many of the bluetooth headset threads, the ROM and BT patch threads (stickies), and so on. HOWEVER, I have not had the time to read every single post -- also, I have no prior experience with either bluetooth headsets or using the bluetooth on my PPC-6600 (except for some brief experimentation with BT Activesync and BT file transfer) -- so basically I know just enough to be dangerous... I'm trying to figure it out but obviously with no experience I'm bound to screw things up. From what I can tell nobody else has tested the BT-450Rx with the 6600 -- on the other hand, this is an opportunity for the forum to get initial feedback on the BT-450Rx.

OK, that said, here's the situation: The built-in microphone in my PPC-6600 has gone downhill fast over the last month or so... the upshot is I desperately need a wireless headset, as the factory wired earbuds are horrible for quickly answering calls with. I've also wanted to start using my 6600 more as an MP3 player.

So, I got the Bluetake i-PHONO mini BT450Rx for Christmas. I must say, I love the clip-on headphones... the basic design is superb.

My initial attempts to use it for Hands-Free/Headset resulted in poor audio quality... somewhat garbled audio on both send/receive even when the cellular connection was perfect (i.e. it's entirely a bluetooth problem, not a Sprint PCS problem). From what I've read this is common with BT headsets if you don't have the best BT stack for the headset you're using.