+ Reply to Thread

CF of some manner with xv6600

hey guys;
    ive been using my verizon based xv6600 for a while now and have read through alot of the old posts here and certainly learned alot. in all hubris i would say that i'm no technophobe.
    i'm a professional photographer and am often filing images on the run, which was one reason i got the 6600, so that i could used it as a usb modem, which has worked out fine so far, i can take my laptop and if there isnt wifi where im filing from (around capital hill and all in downtown DC there generally is plenty though). i was thinking the other day what would be really nice is some manner of CF reader for the 6600 so that i could simply edit the images on the fly with that (since i have that on me anyways since its my phone) and then file them on EVDO.
    so far what ive come up with is this:
    1) ipod has a camera adapter (this converts the usb on the camera (my 20D s support this) to a female usb plug that then plugs into the ipod via its normal sync/charge cable. would this work on the 6600?
    2) some manner of SD card reader for CF cards?
    3) using an SD CF card and shooting the time critical stuff on that in camera then removing the SD card from the convertor and plugging it strait into the 6600, expensive and roundabout though.
    thanks
    alex
    XV-6600-innopocket magnum case. canon 20D 70-200 f/2.8 28-105 f/4

I am an Electrical Engineer and pondered this myself, when I got my phone. The reason that SD only has 9 pins (vs. CF's 50 pins) is that SD is a serial access memory device (whereas CF is parallel access). Basically, it is far easier to convert from serial to parallel (hence the available SD to CF adapters) than vice versa. Connecting a card reader or camera to the PDA's USB port is not possible, as the device's USB controller doesn't support host mode.