+ Reply to Thread

Buying new i760 through Verizon?

Hey noob here,

My ne2 is up and I am sick of paying the data plan and tether for crap service. I have found that this is the only phone that I could get that might be wifi capable. I looked on the Verizon website and they said you cannot purchase it online. I have yet to go into a store cuz I will here the usual "why don't you want a data plan?". Has anyone recently bought one with ne2? If not through verizon, how about amazon? I would like to get a new 1, not used. It feels like verizon is trying to get rid of this phone so they will have to make everyone pay for the data plan. By the way great website! And possibly i760!,
    thanks for the help

Post Verizon and i760

I got mine through Verizon on-line. When I called to ask some questions about it they wanted to "give" it to me for $170. On-line it was $0 because of the NE2. It does have WiFi and hooks up with my FIOS router without a problem. You do not need a data plan with the i760 unless you want one. I hate Verizon but they do offer the best coverage in my area.

I second going throught Ebay

Hey Gjish,
    When did you buy it off of verizon? I didn't log into my account yet, but it said it is no longer available online. I hate verizon as well, but also need the coverage. To you ebay guys, is the phone new or refurbished that you bought. Im hoping not to spend the money especially if it doesn't work or if verizon forces that data plan later in life. Thanks for your help guys!

It was my understanding that all smartphones now were sold requiring a data plan unless you find a way around that. There are certainly other phones on the site with WiFi - Omnia - Touch Diamond etc. but hey I like this phone and it has to be cheaper. Probably wouldn't be forced into a data plan if you bought the phone from a 3rd party (i.e. ebay).
    Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur