+ Reply to Thread

A shell that replaces everything

I'm brand new to smart phones. Just got my i760 a few days ago. I'm still trying to figure out all the quirks and how to makes the most out of it and be most efficient. I've played around with spb mobile shell 3.5 quite a bit but I keep running into little annoyances. Mainly that a lot of functions still default back to standard wm6.1 For instance adding a contact, task etc. Is there anything out there that will replace everything? I heard of some mods for spb but it sounded like it just added more widgets?

Thanks in advanced,
    Hawaii350

SPB shell 3.5 is a good program. It runs better and faster than the old shell 3. I would think that this program would be the best for managing everything.

I still use SPB Mobile Shell 2.1. Less eye candy but in my opinion much easier and user friendly.

SPB mobile shell is just that its a Shell. It runs on top of and the today screen and regular OS launcher. So the other programs that on the phone will still be used. For instance the Calendar. Mobile shell will give you a number of calendar views but if you open and edit any of the items it will open the native calendar app. You can replace the native calendar app with another (like Pocket informant or thumbcal). you can do that piece meal with the other apps if you wish. So the answer to your question is "no" there is nothing that will replace everything.
    If your looking for a more featured PIM program (tasks, contacts, calendar, etc) I would recommend Pocket informant.You have the option to replace the native PIM apps when it is installed. There are others as well like Agendus, Agenda Fusion.
    I like SPB MS. but your right most of the theme/add ons add more screens and widgets. The do add some functionality so I have MSkip's themes on mine.
    Mark
    Luck is where opportunity meets preparation.