+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

First PDA Phone Purchase I730vsI760

I am a college student that is in need of a pda phone. I get $100 towards a new phone but so far do not like any they have in the stores. One main feature I want is Wifi access. I do not want to pay for a data plan...therefore would rely on our campus wide wifi to get my phone internet access. I was set on waiting for the I760 but now have thought about the I730. The few negatives I have heard about the I730 is that you can't use internet and the phone at the same time....and that it is a bigger phone. Either way I am waiting til the release date of the I760 because I hope it drops the price of the I730 on ebay drastically. So what I am curious about is if the features that will be in the I760 are really worth the extra $200-$300 for a college student. Also I am curious how the size compares. Thanks for your input

Enterprise Data Architect Mark_A_K's Avatar
    If you all ready have a PDA and cell phone then save your money.

If however, you are looking for a converged device then I would get the i730 off ebay (becareful) or VZW if one is left base on your limited budget.

If you can swing the extra cash get the i760.

If you hold off for a few more days there may be plenty of used ones you can get. I may even give you mine because you are a struggling student.
    Last edited by Mark_A_K; 10-04-2007 at 01:22 PM.

If strapped for cash, look into the Mogul with Sprint SERO, $30/month. Not sure how much the phones costs, though.
    i760 VZW

I have an i730 but don't have the i760. I suspect a lot of others here are the same.

The i730 with the WM5 upgrade WILL run WiFi and phone at the same time. It will consume the batteries quickly of course. But that would be true of the i760 also. I don't know if the i760 lets you run them at the same time.

The i730 is a pretty good PDA, but not a real good phone. It appears that the i760 is a better phone.