+ Reply to Thread

HTC Home plugin 2.0 on i760?

Hey everyone,

I'm really new to this phone and forum. Both look great so far.

I ventured to install the HTC Home plugin for my i760 and it seems the 1.5 version works fairly well, but I hear there are a bunch of features and bigfixes in the 2.0 version. Whenever I try to load 2.0, my Today screen simply remains blank. Am I doing something wrong? I've tried searching the forum but to no avail.

If anyone has gotten plugin version 2.0 to work on their i760?

Thanks.

Have you tried uninstalling the old one first?

Hi Trinergy,

Yes, I uninstalled the 1.5 version, soft reset, installed 2.0, soft reset, but nothing appears on my today screen. The HTC Home Customizer application sees it installed correctly though because it shows all the options for the 2.0 plugin.

Yeah, the problem your running into here is that the 2.0 version your trying to install was created by someone that was going to use it on another HTC device, and accordingly drew the assumption that whoever was installing it would have certain system files. Nevertheless, I had found a version of 2.0 that works on the i760 ( RapidShare: 1-Click Webhosting ), and if you hop over to the xdadeveloper forums, they've got just about everything HTC ripped off of all their phones and .cab'bed up for install. A word to the wise, though: If your going to experiment with software not written for your phone specifically, play around with different .cabs, see what works and what doesn't, then do a hard reset back to factory condition. Several of these HTC .cabs will install files directly into your windows directory folder, which will in turn make the device a bit sluggish. The HTC Home Plug in above installs the plug in to a seperate HTCHome folder, as to avoid this. Happy hunting

enderbh,