+ Reply to Thread

Active Synch and Restoring Phone

I'm new to WM devices, and i have searched for this answer...

If I perform a hard reset (or if phone becomes corrupted, lost, damaged, etc...) will performing an Active Synch with a blank (i.e., straight from the box) i760 restore all the previous 3rd party apps & individualized settings, provided I Active Synch'ed prior to doing the hard reset?

No. AS is not a backup utility

No. Activesync is not a backup utility. It is a synchronization utility. Activesync will only re-establish your PIM connection and restore the PIM data (emails, contacts, calendar, tasks, journal...) from your current host data. It will also resync a limited amount of other data you have elected to activesync such as Favorites, Notes and Files (My Documents). Activesync will not restore any system data, configs or 3rd party apps.

You may want to purchase one of the following (both have been reviewed extensively in this thread: Best Backup Software for i760 ):

1) Spb Backup: Spb Backup - Pocket PC Products - Spb Software House . This is the one I use. It required a new build to be sent by their support to fix an i760 specific issue (it failed on backing up speed dial data).

2) Sprite Backup: Sprite Mobile | Sprite Mobile Backup . This one has been around awhile, has good support and is reviewed positively on this forum.

If you use these tools properly, you can perform a hard reset, run the backup software's self extracting restore program and you are back in business.

My routine is to schedule a nightly backup of my entire phone to my microSD card. I then use a program called MightySync to sync my microSD contents to my PC. So, I always have a full phone backup available on my microSD card and if the phone or microSD card gets lost/stolen, I still have a full backup of the phone and card on my PC.