+ Reply to Thread

Dialing xtra characters

I just switched from an ancient Treo 650 to the i760. Now, on the treo I had this options to have "Extra characters" dialed after the number. I need this to dial a calling card number, then wait 2 seconds, then dial another number.

Something like this:

1800-123-4567 then wait 2 seconds then dial 123456789 and a # at the end

On the Treo I just had 1800-123-4567,,123456789#

How can I do this on this new phone I have?

Also, how can i have the speedial buttons somehow visible, not going into Menu.Speedial?

Thanks a lot in advance...

maybe the q are rookie style, but hey, i'm very new to this.

You can use 'p' to pause for 2 seconds. I read on here somewhere that people were having problems with it working correctly but mine seems to work fine. I use it for my voicemail by having it dial *86pp(password)#

As a word of warning to anyone who used *86 for Voicemail... those count out of your regular minutes. My wife has her phone set up this way, and those minutes helped push her over the limit one month.

Stupid, I know, but if you set your voicemail to dial your full phone # then VZW counts it as "IN" and it doesn't affect your minutes usage.

On Topic, I too have used the "p" or "pp" in my voicemail settings to audo-dial the password.

The issue is not that dialing into voicemail does not work, but rather that once connected, if you have the screen go into powersave mode, and also have speed dial numbers set in spots 7 and 9, instead of being able to delete or save messages, when you press 7 or 9 you will start a 3-way call to that speed dial number. The problem seems somewhat sporadic, but annoying nonetheless.

Thanks alot, The "p" works!

Quote Originally Posted by LxMeister View Post
    As a word of warning to anyone who used *86 for Voicemail... those count out of your regular minutes. My wife has her phone set up this way, and those minutes helped push her over the limit one month.