+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Time on today screen - Not based on the cell tower?

I am a pilot, so I travel different time zones a lot.
    I know on my old razor phone, the time was updated based on the tower I was using , so I always had the correct time based on the time zone I am in.

With this phone, I noticed it has no effect what time zone or tower I am using, it stays with my Central time. This is a really big "NEGATIVE" with this phone. Is there any way to fix this so it updates based on the cell tower like most cell phones?

This has already been discussed, please use the search function.

In short, PDA phones do not do this because it will mess up appointment, alarm, and task times etc. etc. with is a really big "POSITIVE" for any phone not to do.

Some options that you have are to use the two clock function, or use the world clock program from Samsung.

Funny. I believe the other thread was also started by a pilot. Although I would like it to change automatically, I can see why this is especially useful for pilots.

It doesn't "mess up appointments." Entries are stored in GMT time and they just get displayed to the user one way or the other based on what timezone they are using. Changing the timezone on my PDA will have zero effect on my Exchange appointments. The GMT time stays the same.

So if I am in Central time and have a noon meeting and go to the East coast, wouldn't you want your device to have the correct time where you are located so you get a reminder for your meeting at the right time?

Treo 700wx's had an option to adjust timezone automagicly. It was called something like "Use Network Time Zone." Samsung, or Verizon for whatever reason chose not to have that option.
    Last edited by Dorf; 11-30-2007 at 01:21 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Dorf View Post