+ Reply to Thread

Phone Alarm... worth the $?

I was looking at all the custom today screen shots and I noticed most people use phone alarm.

Is it really worth the price?

phonealarm is nice but it really sinks its teeth into the system. i have mixed results using it on other devices so i will not use it on my i760. but i am sure other have no problem.

It's a bit daunting to use but if you go through and at least review each setting and try to understand what each setting does its completely worth the work. For me it’s the number one piece of software I put on my device. I've been using it for a few years w/o any trouble.

The writer of the software also offers some of the best support I've seen. Where else can you email support and get responses directly from the author of the app in hours (sometimes minutes)?
    Thanks
    - Andrew - PDAPhoneHome.com

If you don't find a skin you like from the website or the forums, good luck in creating one. I tried it and it is time consuming, especially since you have to use the program on the device itself.

I tried out PA on my i730 and had two problems with it. First, it's really, really work to get it configured how you want and you can still miss things. Look around the forum and you'll find people talking about alarms going off that make people think a tornado's about to hit. Second, there were what seemed like a constant stream of updates and bug-fixes (and hitting their home page, that's not changed - four since October). Not that the attention from the developer is bad, just that it's a whole lot of maintenance for something I just want to work. It may be that they're just trying to do too much in too fancy a way, and if you configure it right I bet it's the best thing out there.

But for me, it was more than I wanted to take on. I bought SPB Phone Suite instead.