+ Reply to Thread

Question newbie - dvd to SD ? & napster files to mp3? - and more...

please be gentle!

Coming from the world of regular phones and no mp3 players. (had a Sony Clie years back, so the PDA part makes sense to me, for the most part)

I would LOVE to get a copy of one of my DVDs (Chicago) to watch when I'm stuck waiting places, but I can't find a program that seems to work. Could be user error too since I'm new to all this. I read over 30 pages of posts and didn't see anything here.

Also, we pay for Napster, but I can't get any of the music to play on my i760. I think they have some sort of block on their songs, but if we're paying for them, don't we have the right to put them our our SD card?? Again, I've tried a few programs, but can't get anything to work.

I'm also trying to figure out how to get a Napster song to work as a ringtone. The only programs I can find to edit them (Saw Audacity recommended here) run into the same problem that they can't work with the Napster song.

Please help, and remember, I'm a newbie to all this, so brief explanations with lots of abbreviations will leave me more confused than when I started this search 2 weeks ago.

Oh, and just for the heck of it - since I'm here - live TV? Is it possible? Tried something called ORB that I saw posted here, but it didn't work for me. Couldn't get anything live. Shows that were recorded on my pc showed up, but wouldn't play (some message about a wrong format), could see documents well though. But the program really slowed down my pc, so I removed it.

Thanks for all the help. I've learned a lot reading all these posts!

For ripping DVDs I use: Spb Mobile DVD - Pocket PC Products - Spb Software House

I'm not aware of the music subscription services working on WM6 yet. I am hopeful that Rhapsody will offer something. If you have a Rhapsody ToGo account, you can download subscription music to your microSD card.