+ Reply to Thread

i760 from Amazon without the data plan???

So I've been reading and from what I understand that you need to get some sort of data plan for this phone. I'm a college student with wifi all over the place and I really can't afford the data plan right now. Reading I saw that you can put that block on the phone but then if I understand correctly video and picture messages would get messed up.

Well here is the thing looking at amazon.com
    Amazon.com: Samsung i760 Black Phone (Verizon Wireless): Cell Phones & Service

You can get the phone for $200 and if you choose a plan that does NOT have "Unlimited Messaging" when going to the next page you see this

As you can see there is no choice you must choose a data plan

BUT now if you choose a plan from the list that DOES have "Unlimited Messaging" you see this instead on the next page

As you can see there is NO MENTION at all of any data plan...

So I'm trying to figure out here what is going on, does this mean if you choose the "Unlimited Messaging" plan you can get this PDA phone WITH unlimited text, video, and picture messaging and NOT have a data plan???

Thanks for your help as I want to figure out if this is a mistake on Amazon's part or if it's actually correct.

I don't know where you get this "you need" a data plan.
    I have no data plan, phone works fine.

You don't!? Did you order it through verizon's website and can you receive text, picture, and video messages?? Because going through their website all the plans available for the phone have data on them. Which is what made me assume that a data plan is required.