+ Reply to Thread

SPH i500 or Treo 600?

Let me explain my situation.

I'm a poor student, relatively. By relatively I mean I want a PDA phone but gadgets aren't huge in my book so I'm not one to be spending top dollar on the latest and greatest-- as much as I may wanted.

That said, I bought an SPH i330 on Ebay a few months back for $120. It's been good to me, but I've not been nice to it. It's had it's usual wear and tear I've put it through. Couple that with the problems it has on its own-- hard resetting by itself, crashing, no SMS and duplicate messages that eat up my 100 message limit --its been a pain in the butt. So I called a day or so ago lockline and they replaced my i330 with an i500. The i500 I've noticed is still getting around $300 or more on places like Ebay, here, and the occasional Craigslist ad I see. I also notice I can get a Treo 600 for the same price.

So my dilemma is that the i500 has more obsolete software and hardware. It has Palm 4.1 and no card slot, so I'm stuck with 16 MB. Other than that, it seems like a great phone. I don't understand why it's priced the same as a Treo.

I don't know all the lingo, but the Treo 600 has an SD slot, yes? Meaning I could put a bluetooth card in there. (yes, I know the Treo 650 is coming out and it has bluetooth, but I'm poor, remember?) I also could put a lot of extra memory in the sucker and watch movies or listen to MP3s. These are all features that sound cool.

But then why are y'all so attached to the SPH i500? I personally might just keep it because it's prettier. Having a damn keyboard on a phone just seems so excessive. Sorry this was long-winded. BTW, and I'll look it up, how much will the Treo 650 cost?

treo 600 will not work with the bluetooth sd card period-it hasnt been done to this date.
    if you go to the treo roadshow like the ones coming up i believe in nyc, boston and d.c. you can snag a 650 for $349.