+ Reply to Thread

What is the difference between a pda phone and a smartphone?

I know its a dumb question for all of you, but I'm new to this and can't figure it out or get a straight answer. Please help. Thanks

Smartphones don't have touch screens. Smartphones are also PDA phones, in the general definition of personal digital assistant, so it is easy to confuse the two.
    John

Although I understand jp's response, which alludes to the difference between a Pocket PC and a Smartphone, I would take a different approach to the answer.
    There is no difference--they are two descriptions for the same thing.

Quote Originally Posted by scottb
    Although I understand jp's response, which alludes to the difference between a Pocket PC and a Smartphone, I would take a different approach to the answer.
    There is no difference--they are two descriptions for the same thing.
    But the software for Smartphones and PPC's is completely different - so they're not the same thing at all! And users have gotten really frustrated by trying to install software designed for one on the other. - sheureka
    Do good. Be kind. Have fun.

I think it all depends on what reference you are starting with. Palm calls their Treos "smartphones" and it is really a matter of semantics. They are certainly more capable than any typical Nokia, LG or Motorola cell phone, but Microsoft has taken the names to mean two different versions of the operating system.

The smartphone version of Windows Mobile does not support touchscreens and does not include native editing of Word, Excel or PowerPoint documents. Standard Windows Mobile devices include touch screens and have a much wider range of utility applications, including Pocket Word, Pocket Excel, and Pocket PowerPoint (in Windows Mobile 5.) However, both versions are more the same than they are different. Both versions can be considered PDAphones.