+ Reply to Thread

Re: Real deal on VZW Treo 650 and data

I just bought a Treo 650 from PalmOne online. I'm expecting to get it within 2-3 weeks, and plan to activate it using the online ESN changer. I have an ACI Family Share plan with 450 minutes to share, unlimited IN, and unlimited N&W. I just want a PDA/phone combo (I'm a medical professional that uses Palm OS programs for quick medical reference and patient tracking and MS Office editing, in addition to regular Palm OS calendar, to do, memo, and contact management).

My data usage: DO NOT check e-mail, DO NOT use the internet, and most likely WILL NOT use pix messaging (since this thing has a SD expansion card with desktop pix hotsync). Just to check: regular text (SMS) messages are NOT a data feature, right?

I don't want to sign up for a data plan, but I don't want to disable data on my account either. I'm hearing a lot about background synching with the Treo 650 that runs up data usage, and I don't plan on configuring versamail or wireless sync (what is this anyway?) when I start using my Treo. What's the truth regarding data charges, and what changes will be made to my account (if any) when I change my ESN online to the Treo? If there's the possiblity that my data charges will run up, even with me not touching e-mail, internet, or MMS messages, I'm just going to call and tell CS to disable all data use on my account.

Thanks ahead of time... this Treo data confusion is making my head spin.

SMS is seperate from Data.

If you don't config any mail program or wireless sync, nothing automatic can or will ever happen. The idiots at Verizon just recite that automatic script to scare everyone into at least getting the $5 Sync plan, which most people won't need or even understand.

My advice, get the pay as you go so you CAN use a small amount of data if you ever really want or need to (realizing that the KBs mount up more quickly than you might think and at 1.5 cents per you gotta watch it).