+ Reply to Thread

Old Bell Ringtone

Is anyone using the "Old Bell Ringtone" on their Treo 650. I used this sound on my Kyo 7135 since I work in construction and want to use it on this phone. I know I can covert it over, but I will not have much time to do this for several days and was hoping someone else had converted it. If you have it, I can be emailed at jim@mail.jch.us. Thanks

Resident Curmudgeon
    You don't need to convert anything, just beam/copy/whatever the file over to the storage card on your Treo, and rename the file extension to .MP3

-PatP

I gave up programming many years ago, but I don't see how just changing the extension to .mp3 will help. As it is I believe the Treo wants a .midi file for ringtones. Everything I have read requires a conversion using 1 or two different programs.

Gino

Gino

Dude, Can't explain the technical reasons why this works but it does as PatP states. Any 7135 pdb ring tone file can be listened to as an MP3 by merely changing the extension. Of course it doesn't go the other way. If you have an MP3 you cannot change it to a 7135 pdb ringtone without (as you pointed out) converting it. Go figure.

Good place for Bill Gates SilvrDrgn's Avatar
    It's more than just renaming the file. On the Treo 650, you have to have a program to play MP3's (like Pocket Tunes Deluxe) and a program to "intercept" the incoming calls and perform specific actions on that event (like LightWav). I use those programs on my Treo 650 to play the Old Bell Telephone MP3 when someone calls me. People around me really get a kick out of it when I get a call!
    Michael

I think this is it

Here is a file. I think this should work for you.
    The easiest way to install the file is to download it while browsing with the TREO
    There are instructions on the board to download it to your SD card and pick it up from there.

If helpful, here is the original site where I got it from.

http://portal.treobits.com/index.php?ind=ringtones&d=o
    Attached Files