+ Reply to Thread

Newbie to the Treo ... what programs should I install first?

Hello everyone, I'm new to the whole treo/smartphone experience ... but not new to the forum ... so I was wondering what programs are a MUST have on my Treo?

I did some research and came across some programs like MemMaid, Magic Button, Resco File Explorer ... these seem like programs that I would need .. like memory manager and a better file explorer than the built-in WM5 version

so my questions are:
    1) are these programs ok? (those of you who have any of these programs ... have you experienced any problems?)
    2) any other recommendations?

Also what is a good registry editor program?

Thanks for any and all help,
    rolau
    Last edited by rolau; 04-08-2007 at 08:34 PM.

I would recommend a backup program. I'm not sure if any other subscriber does it, but Sprint includes Sprite Backup with the phones. Unfortunately, I never bothered to look at the CD and bought the app through Sprite's website. I had previously owned Sprite backup when I on my 4 year old iPaq H5555, so I was eligible for a cheap upgrade.

Resco Explorer is another good program, which blows the file explorer the WM5 comes with.

MemmAid is also another excellent utility. One feature allows you to clear temp, cache, etc. files from your device.

I never used MagicButton, but it appears to be a nice app, which allows you to kill unnecessary running tasks.

I have the Sprite Backup program that came on the CD that was provided with the phone ... so I had installed that already... thanks for your input

has anyone used the program SKTools?

Resco Explorer with Registry Editor is alwasy a good thing to install, Tweaks2k2 for theaking made easy. SKTools is also a good utility. What types of apps are you looking for and did you have a chance to read the sticky at the top of the forum on apps that work.